THE DOLOROUS ADVENTURE OF BROTHER BANENOSE Is Coming To Your Bookshelf!

Yes, I specifically mean YOUR bookshelf.

So after years of fruitless querying, I finally have a book deal! The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose will be published … as a book … that you can buy! It has been officially picked up by the indie publishing house Booktrope. I didn’t even need to grovel first. I’m feeling pretty shpadoinkle about this development. Aside from this being grand news for me, here’s why it’s good news for you too:

1. It won’t be self-published. This means that somebody besides me declared “Yes, The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose is a book that ought to be published!” Doesn’t that make you feel much better about reading it in the future? There will also be people with professional experience helping to maintain quality control. This works out well for me because I don’t need to spend money I don’t have up front to get my book published in the offchance that I can sell it directly to enough people to recoup my expenses. Foucault’s Pendulum warned me about that scam. It ends with me having to sleep under a makeshift lean-to composed of unsold copies & carry oversized hobo bindles for me & my cat. Yes, she’s that lazy.

2. It won’t be crowdfunded. My book will not be competing with other projects for your advance patronage. As a semi-recluse, I doubt I know enough people to fund a successful campaign. So if you wanted the book but it didn’t meet its minimum, both of us would remain unsatisfied.  If it did get fully funded, on the other hand, you’d still run the risk of me frittering away your investment on library sale books & action figures instead of production. This also saves me the hassle of creating different rewards tier incentives on top of making & shipping the book itself. Booktrope already has logistics for production & distribution of mind-altering tomes worked out. This reduces the risk of you missing out if you didn’t pre-order before a campaign deadline (because there won’t be one).

3. I’ll still have a lot of input into the final product. Booktrope’s publishing platform provides plenty of freedom to authors. As a first time author, I would not receive the same level of control if a major publisher had the good sense to accept my manuscript. I get to hand select an international team to ferry The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose to completion. It may even remain the comic misadventures of a Medieval monk named Brother Banenose, but that may change drastically once I receive my editor’s notes. I can even include illustrations (provided I figure out a workaround for oversize flatbed scanners being extinct).  So if Booktrope is willing to give me enough rope to hang myself, I’m sure as Hell going to tie an excellent noose!

Booktrope has distribution infrastructure set up with retailers such as Amazon & Barnes & Noble, so it shouldn’t be that difficult to obtain a copy of The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose. The book will be produced in both electromagnetic & carbon based varieties. So far the only downside that I see is that Booktrope does not pay advances to authors to live off before books go to press. I will only be earning my share of its royalties. So I’d greatly appreciate it if you bought a copy or forty-two of The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose when it comes out! They’ll make excellent gifts for everyone you know. I’ll even sign your e-book if you accost me at the supermarket. (Please don’t accost in the supermarket because I’ll scream & it’ll be embarrassing for everyone.)

Special thanks to Cain S. Latrani for getting me in touch with Booktrope. So pick up his forthcoming War Witch: Rise too!

In other recent developments, I’ve also got a new list on Topless Robot this week that you should read because it contains both Rocksteady & Bebop! 10 Reasons why the 2012 TMNT Cartoon Is the Best Version in all Media

Finally, the blog has surpassed the thousand visitors mark this week! Thanks for swinging by! Keep coming back for more as I give updates on the progress of The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose & other stuff I’m working on.

mgme9

9 thoughts on “THE DOLOROUS ADVENTURE OF BROTHER BANENOSE Is Coming To Your Bookshelf!

Leave a Reply

