So … I Still Have A Book Deal?

Thank you to everyone who congratulated me on the forthcoming publication of The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose! Despite not referencing any known properties, it was a surprisingly popular post. It was the first in three weeks that didn’t mention Jemmacide. And now I have to reset the counter.

So this week’s big news is … I still have a book deal. I think. I’m in that paranoid phase where I fear that the book deal will turn out to be a clerical error now that I’ve announced it to the world. Then on top of the disappointment & shame of the book not being published, one of my eyes would be plucked from my head before I’m cast out into a den of leper urchins. Plus my cat would have foolishly trade my old lamp for a Djinnless new one & be whisked off by someone who’s definitely not the itinerant peddler they purported to be. That’s how this scenario would play out in The Book of 1,000 Nights & a Night. 

So other than my inability to cope with an influx of eustress, here’s some tidbits about the state of the project: I’ve assembled an international dream team to work on the book with me. Maybe I’ll introduce you to them next week. The manuscript is currently in the editing phase.  There is no firm release date set for The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose yet, but I estimate it will range between late 2015 & early 2016. I am working on a brand new painting specifically for the cover.

These tend to get better response if I include an image.  This was what I managed to scrounge up during the book deal madness:

lnjrnDespite her lack of skunkstripe, Isabo Dennis is the best live action Rogue by the unfortunate virtue of Bryan Singer inexplicably refusing to let Anna Paquin be badass. (It’s a safe bet that Kenzi will also remain the best Jubilee, despite not being Chinese American, after X-Men: Apocalypse comes out.) If she married Gambit she’d be Isabo LeBeau. So why shouldn’t she also be the best Bane while we’re at it? It would be perfectly reasonable for Bo to suddenly put on a leather Luchador mask & start breaking backs over her knee. Lost Girl is already insanely convoluted enough to be Marvel or DC comic. I feel like this picture of Walter Skinner during pretty much every episode.

Rest in peace, Tanith Lee & Christopher Lee. You are already missed.

Please return next week when I hope to have more exciting updates about The Dolorous Adventure of Brother Banenose!

One thought on “So … I Still Have A Book Deal?

Leave a Reply

