An Interview For Your Eyes Only

I usually do podcast interviews for your ears only, but this time you’ll have to read. Brandon Reis interviewed me for the William Paterson University Honors College newsletter. Whilst on campus, I was also able to present Professor John Peterman with a personalized copy for his guidance on The Dolorous Adventure Of Brother Banenose back was it was just an un-illustrated thesis. With any luck, my alma mater will invite me to speak to students directly next time.

95275082-2d54-49c5-a456-0d7fdcd36560

Let me know if you have any suggestions on what you’d like me to address in upcoming interviews, blogs, signings, & speaking engagements! Also feel free to contact my manager (MajankaVerstraete@Booktrope.com) if you’d like to set any of those up.

Whilst researching my next novel & life goals, I read The Mad Scientist’s Guide to World Domination: Original Short Fiction for the Modern Evil Genius. ‘Tis a splendid anthology, despite its somewhat misleading title, because its stellar hits far outweigh its misses that are still readable. Its biggest flaw is that the editor keeps trying to spoil the stories, so skip his introductions. As much as I love his early work, Chris Claremont talking about Magneto’s relationship to Xavier in the foreword really doesn’t gel with the anthology’s theme. The better stories include “Laughter At The Academy” by Seanan McGuire, “Instead Of A Loving Heart” by Jeremiah Tolbert, “The Angel Of Death Has A Business Plan” by Heather Lindsay, “Ancient Equations” by L. A. Banks, “Captain Justice Saves The Day” by Genevieve Valentine, “The Mad Scientist’s Daughter” by Theodora Goss, “Blood & Stardust” by Laird Barron, & “The Last Dignity Of Man” by Marjorie Liu. I would’ve enjoyed “The Space Betwen” more had I read the rest of the Outlander series. The absolute best tale, however, is Gary Hendrix’s “Mofongo Knows” because it’s about a telepathic gorilla. Much like Gorilla Grodd on The F-Lash has ruined all other live action TV shows for me, now I can no longer see the point of prose without psychic apes.

Lots of nerdy TV is on this week (Penguin Awareness Day makes me wish Gotham was back already), but  I want to bring The 100 to your attention before boarding the WB Wouldn’t Let Us Do Justice League Legends of Tomorrow train. Its third season begins afterward, so you better not change that dial. I’ve already written an article on why The 100 Is the Best Show You’re (Probably) Not Watching, in case that headline applies to you. Note that I wrote it before the show had any confirmed LGBTQ characters or Quake’s mom had any agency on Agents of SHIELD, yet both occurred following its publication.  Internet rants really do make a difference! Of course I was excited for season three of (Green) Arrow too … until I saw (Green) Arrow season three. Don’t let me down, The 100! Irregardless, Toni Maggio’s photo recaps will be wondrous.

Context?:

I once compelled a Canadian to sing me a song on The Interwuzzle. This is about the extent of my powers.

NECA officially says “no chance” of a Kothoga (from The Relic movie, an improvement over the book’s Mbwun) action figure. (I got an exclusive!) I don’t like those odds! At least I’ll always have my model.

0007

How long until we get memorial biopics of David Bowie & Alan Rickman starring Tilda Swinton & Benedict Cumberbatch?

Wait … are they folding both films into Dr. Strange?

Galavant’s “Giants vs. Dwarves” evokes BVSDOJ with Roberta as Wonder Woman. Anthony Stewart Head being unable to reprise his role as Galavant’s dad due to theatre conflicts was disappointing, especially as the recasting wasn’t lampshadedI believe in Tad Cooper!

Speaking of BVSDOJ,  the CW’s infomercial for it made made Wonder Woman & Suicide Squad look good. I still have some reservations, but I’m not going to prematurely condemn DC’s entire movieverse after just one film. My former editor, Rob Bricken, made some good points about how setting Wonder Woman during WWI could be thematically perfect, although I’m still concerned that showing her unable to quickly defuse all wars since & not fighting Zod’s invasion makes her look ineffectual. Geoff Johns’s comment that the Amazons’ origin is that they were created to protect Man’s World sounds squicky, especially if they insist on using her horrible New 52 origin. It doesn’t look like she’ll be able to fly either. And yet Patty Jenkins’s footage of Gal Gadot in action looks fantastic!

Suicide Squad looks like Guardians Of The Galaxy … on Earth! I am onboard with this. I was expecting The Dirty Dozen for supervillains  to look much grimmer & grittier than a movie starring Superman, but I like humor, colors, & fun too much to complain. Perhaps these films occur in BIzarro World? Even its posters ooze personality.  I still hate that they didn’t use the classic designs of Harley Quinn & Joker that were perfect, but the stuff around them could work. (Of course Enchantress’s costume is still the most Frank Miller thing that he’s never drawn, & Jai Courtney has yet to be tolerable.) Katana’s Soultaker sword, Enchantress, & El Diablo seem to be straight up magic without superscience handholding! I’m ridiculously excited for Killer Croc’s silver screen debut! Hopefully he’s not Batfleck in scaleface.

I’ve updated my “About” page, accessible via the icon with the horizontal lines. If you’ve been directed here by a random hyperlink, you may find this informational useful.

Leave a Reply

